Lack of Empire and Story Toolkit

April 9, 2013 at 2:23 pm Leave a comment

Although I mentioned Empire in one of my previous posts, I’m afraid I don’t have much to report back yet about the wonders of LARP as a storytelling medium.  A bit of a stomach bug and -11 degree temperatures with wind chill in the middle of an open field (ie with lots of chance for the wind to chill) I only actually managed one afternoon of actual roleplay after spending a day setting up.  Luckily the next event is at the end of May which hopefully should be considerably warmer and with less of me being sick.

Meanwhile, I think I’m building up a fairly good case for storytelling as part of project wrap up to be a good idea only if properly supported/managed.  In my previous post I mentioned how creativity takes time, in terms of space to be creative and in terms of time to hone storytelling skills.   Week 5 of ds106 kind of rams that home as it is about how to become a better photographer.  Now there are lots of ways to be creative, and ds106 seems to be encouraging learners to become good at all of them.  Admirable undoubtedly, and for the full time students on the course a worthwhile goal, but anyone who has passions and hobbies outside work knows that you can only cram in so much after day to day work, home, family and friends if you want to have any sleep.

I’ve been coming to the conclusion that it shouls be possible to create a toolkit or something to give people the structures and building blocks required to create quick and dirty stories.  It would need how to tell what your story should be about, help on basic story structure, types of stories, media to create stories in, maybe a couple of very quick creative exercises…

But this idea has got to be too simplistic.  I’ve just been going on about how storytelling takes time and creativity and skill and yet it’s also true that we tell stories all the time – it’s how we’re wired and it’s why they’re so useful as a communication tool.  As long as we’re not looking to create great literature or the next film festival winner it should be possible I think.

I’m going to have a think about how this might be done, but if anyone has any ideas (or thinks it’s a little crazy) I’d love to hear them!

Entry filed under: Digital storytelling, ds106, Non-digital storytelling, storytelling for projects. Tags: .

Audio and serious storytelling When and why of business storytelling

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


