Live Action Role Play – My first proper encounter

June 3, 2013 at 3:23 pm Leave a comment

Empire Event 2 – Spring Equinnox happened over the bank holiday weekend and, boy, was that an experience.

After the extreme cold and being ill over event 1 I was hesitant about event 2, but thankfully, apart from some showers and a lot of wind while setting up on Friday afternoon, we had beautiful weather.  Enough that I came back with even more freckles and actually got to use the parasol I had bought just in case (plastic sunglasses not exactly being in character).  For an event that takes place in a field, good weather certainly helps.

I have to say it took me a while to get into it.  It was actually sort of lucky that I hadn’t been there the previous event as I had plenty of excuses to go seeking people out and asking them lots of questions.  Sometimes I’m entirely too British (ok…And shy…) for my own good and I need a good reason to talk to someone I don’t know.  But it turns out talking to people is how the game is played – well, that and hitting people with larp-safe weaponry.  There are regular battles fought in the woods at the back of the site, and I really do mean regular.  They are scheduled for specific times and those players who want to fight can spend a fair bit of time mustering, fighting and getting healed afterwards.  For every battle they fight, in theory, they should play a monster at another fight to give other players something to fight against.  In practise there was a tendency for there to be less people monstering than there were fighting, even with people like myself, who weren’t playing combat characters, volunteering to monster for a laugh.

I spent the Friday evening and Saturday morning trying to convince myself to talk to people and finally getting so frustrated that I couldn’t find anyone that actually talking to them when I did find them was a relief.  Turns out I should have chosen my time to monster differently as everyone was at the big battle on Saturday morning.  But by around 4pm Saturday afternoon I had finally started to find people and my game began.

I say my game, because each player truly has their own game to play (or story to create if you prefer) depending on their interests, their capabilities and their desire to get stuck in.  Some general categories of game include the combat game, the trading/commerce game, the politics game (which in this particular larp comes in many flavours including the senate game, conclave game and synod game), the mage game and (because this is larpers) the FOR SCIENCE! Game.  But really every player has to make their own game and it can be a lot of work.  Snippets of plot get waved under peoples’ noses, but if you don’t pick up the threads, get interested, and get other people interested, and work together to work out what it all means (if anything) then the story doesn’t happen.

For example some monsters were given a skull to torment the player-characters with during one of the small battles.  The players have a choice whether to fight for it or not.  But their characters believe it could be the head of the recently killed Empress so they fight through recklessly to win it back.  That recklessness caused ripples for their characters that I didn’t get to see.  What I saw was them yelling at each other about whose fault something was outside the senate building, while practically ready to brain each other with the skull (though they wouldn’t have because it wasn’t a larp-safe skull…In a world where larp-safe buckets exist I can’t help but think larp-safe skulls must).  All the other players who witness this have the option to go about their business, but they don’t because that would be no fun.  Instead you get priests wanting to see whether it needs exorcising, mages wanting to scry out its origins, senators trying to take control and someone somewhere no doubt wondering what the autumn eternals (magical spirits in this system) would be willing to trade for it.  In this case the mages got to scry over it, it turned out it wasn’t the Empress’s skull and suddenly people weren’t as interested.

Everyone has to work together, or argue hard enough that they should be the ones in charge.  And since this is a game primarily about politics it all has to be seen to be in the best interests of the Empire.  If these characters just went about their lives, let other people get on with it, then there would be no story.  Larpers can smell out any tiny hint of plot like bloodhounds and jump on it. They get their character’s involved and in so doing they create and cement each character’s personality (if my character responded this way to that, then they would respond that way to this).  It’s quite amazing the energy that goes into creating this story.  Players stay up till the early hours of the morning for days on end, getting up in time to throw themselves into battle (which is especially tiring if you’re a monster in a latex mask who has to keep running back and forth to the spawn point each time you die).

So how does this relate to digital storytelling?  Well it doesn’t particularly I suppose – not to the digital part anyway.  Except that I have heard that the Empire wiki, where all backstory, rules, and knowledge about the Empire and how it works are contained, is now larger than the whole of the Lord of the Rings.  That being said it is an amazing way of creating a story – or maybe living a story, but certainly not telling it.  The story doesn’t exist, it comes into being as you interact with the other characters (and then the funny bits get re-told between yourselves afterwards to appreciate the wonderful things that have spontaneously come into being).

I think it does teach some fabulous things: confidence being highest among them.  Unless you are one of the rare people who can memorise the entire wiki (and there are those who do) you play the game by the seat of your pants.  It forces you to think things up on the spot that are in character and not going to get you inquisited for heresy. Even if you can remember everything (and I swear I know at least one guy who can) a lot of the fun comes from being involved, and the only person who can get you involved is you.  If you’re someone like me that takes some effort at first, but by the end of the weekend it was natural.

It forces you to disengage slightly with technology, since the most advance tech you can get away with in character is a clock and that’s only because you have to be able to know when it’s time to battle somehow.

It’s also great for gender equality.  While there are more men than women on the field it’s not glaringly obvious – I certainly didn’t feel at all out of place.  And while a lot of fantasy literature side-lines women under the argument that it wouldn’t be realisitc there’s none of that in Empire.  Women are senators, mages, generals, cardinals, combatants – the lot.  And watching our friend Rowena recruit troops and then win the battle for the War Mage position at the front of those troops was truly inspiring and not just to me I think.

I think it will take a little longer to fully process what this means in terms of storytelling.  I will say it was an amazing event and I can’t wait for the next one at the end of July – I just hope the nights are a little warmer and the weather is just as good.

Entry filed under: Non-digital storytelling, Training.

When and why of business storytelling DS8

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


